Bad Boys, Bad Boys, Whatcha you gonna do when the Cops friend you on FaceBook? (I swear, I thought I had a better line)

On Thursday, I sat down at my desk with a Miller High Life and read District Attorney Edward Marsico’s article about using Social Media to catch criminals. I was struck by the effectiveness to which Police use sites such as Twitter and Facebook to catch various criminals, notably gang violence and pedophiles.

As Marsico noted, whenever there is a jump in technology, criminals are the first to utilize it for despicable means. Many law enforcement officials knew that one way to combat activity were to beat the criminal at their own game. 

My question, where do we draw the line between finding justice and violating someone’s right of privacy?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Bad Boys, Bad Boys, Whatcha you gonna do when the Cops friend you on FaceBook? (I swear, I thought I had a better line)

  1. Ace, that is a great question. I don’t know, I don’t think that question can be answered right now. Check out my recent blog post about how police are using social media to stop huge parties from happening! http://caswalk.wordpress.com/2012/03/23/police-using-social-media-to-stop-project-x-parties/

  2. Unless I knew said police officer personaly, I would unfriend them. This is right up there with employers asking for a facebook password. All that said, I always try to be careful about what I post.

Leave a Reply

