Cookie Dough Truffles

Who doesn’t love cookie dough? I don’t know of many people! My sister and I have been known to buy the prepared cookie dough at the grocery store and eat all of it before the cookies make it to the oven. So in reality, what is the point of baking cookie dough? Paula Deen, not surprisingly, agrees with me and  created the recipe for Cookie Dough Truffles.

I first tried this recipe about a year ago and have been making them as gifts ever since. People can’t seem to get enough! The easy no-bake recipe will win you praise you can’t imagine!

First, mix the softened butter (best to leave out overnight so that it comes to room temperature) with the brown sugar until creamy with an electric mixer. Mix in the vanilla. Once creamy, add the flour. Now for the ingredient that makes these truffles so yummy, sweetened condensed milk!

The recipe then calls for mixing in chocolate morsels and pecans, but with so many people allergic to nuts, I left out the pecans.  Make sure to line a baking sheet with wax paper and roll out the dough into balls. I used a 1-inch ice cream scooper so that all the truffles would be uniform in size. Once rolled, place into the refrigerator to chill.

Using a double boiler (simmering water in a pan with a glass bowl on top) melt the chocolate coating. Use two forks to dip cookie dough into the chocolate. This step is kind of messy, but fun!

Place back onto the wax paper and into the refrigerator to chill for a final go around. Once set, the cookie dough truffles should look like this.

Granted they aren’t the most beautiful of candies, but the point is that they are supposed to look homemade. As I mentioned before, they work great in little goodie bags for takeaways from any event. I gave them to guests after Easter Supper to take home. A great way for party goers to really feel appreciated!

I hope your mouths are watering and that you are enticed to make  these for yourself. Or just give me a call! For further video instruction visit http://www.foodnetwork.com/videos/cookie-dough-truffles/45548.html

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2 cup semisweet mini chocolate morsels
  • 1 cup finely chopped pecans
  • 1 1/2 lbs. chocolate bark candy coating, melted
Directions:
Cream butter and brown sugar with an electric mixer at medium speed until creamy. Add vanilla. Gradually beat in flour. Add condensed milk. Add chocolate morsels and pecans. Shape into 1-inch balls. Placed on waxed paper and chill for 2 hrs. Melt the chocolate bark candy coating in a double broiler. Using 2 forks, dip cookie balls in coating to cover. Place on waxed paper and chill in refrigerator for 1 hr.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Cookie Dough Truffles

  1. Love the post Cam, I’ve never had good experiences with truffles. Your recipe does sound appetizing.

  2. Looks yummy! I will try to make some with this recipe when I have time, hope I won’t screw it. I was never a good cook.

  3. If I wasn’t hungry before, I am now. I love sweets and am kind of obsessed with baking, so allow me to dispense a good recipe and return the favor. If you want to kick a plain brownie recipe up a notch, put some chevre cheese in it. And if really you’re willing to go out of the box, top the brownie with salt. Sure it sounds like a brownie only a pregnant lady could love, but it’s crazy delicious.

    • cameronellis88

      Wow that does sound interesting! The addition of salt is actually not that weird because what many people don’t realize is that salt brings out the flavor of whatever you put it in. That is why bakers put salt in cakes, cupcakes etc.

  4. Cameron! Those look delectable! I need make those as soon as all these final projects are done for the semester! (Yes, I said NEED.) Thanks for the recipe and directions!
    However, I may need to personally try some of yours before I make them myself 🙂

  5. Cameron, did you have family members that taught you to cook growing up? I have some friends that cook some of the most amazing dishes, and I can barely manage to grill chicken breast. I think most of my problems come from trying to reduce the calories in dishes which also invariably reduces the deliciousness.

    • cameronellis88

      I did have family members that taught me how to cook! I have a very southern family, and my grandmother would DIE if she thought I could not cook properly. Most of the fun moments in my family happen in the kitchen.

      For healthier but yummy recipes, check out Bobby Dean on the Cooking Channel. He tries to lighten his mother’s recipes up a bit!

      • Thanks for the tip! One time I saw an episode of Paula’s show, and she was describing how to make the perfect bologna sandwich. She said the key to the perfect sandwich is to make sure you put mayonnaise on both pieces of bread and make sure you spread it out to all corners, as if bologna sandwiches couldn’t get any worse (and more delicious).

  6. Looking through this post reminds me of one thing – I never did get you those recipes that you asked for last November. I still have them if you are still interested.

    Those cookie dough truffles look tasty, by the way.

Leave a Reply

